You are here

Museum News: Colorado Hall of Fame's Class of 2022



Editor Seth Masia
Managing Editor Greg Ditrinco
Consulting Editor Cindy Hirschfeld
Art Director Edna Baker

Editorial Board
Seth Masia, Chairman
John Allen, Andy Bigford, John Caldwell, Jeremy Davis, Kirby Gilbert, Paul Hooge, Jeff Leich, Bob Soden, Ingrid Wicken

Founding Editors 
Morten Lund, Glenn Parkinson

To preserve skiing history and to increase awareness of the sport’s heritage

ISHA Founder 
Mason Beekley, 1927–2001

ISHA Board of Directors

Rick Moulton, Chairman
Seth Masia, President
Wini Jones, Vice President
Jeff Blumenfeld, Vice President
John McMurtry, Vice President
Bob Soden (Canada), Treasurer

Richard Allen, Skip Beitzel, Michael Calderone, Dick Cutler, Wendolyn Holland, Ken Hugessen (Canada), David Ingemie, Joe Jay Jalbert, Henri Rivers, Charles Sanders, Einar Sunde, Christof Thöny (Austria), Ivan Wagner (Switzerland)

Presidential Circle
Christin Cooper, Billy Kidd, Jean-Claude Killy, Bode Miller, Doug Pfeiffer, Penny Pitou, Nancy Greene Raine

Executive Director
Janet White

Membership Services 
Laurie Glover
(802) 375-1105

Corporate Sponsorships 
Peter Kirkpatrick
(541) 944-3095


Bimonthly journal and official publication of the International Skiing History Association (ISHA)

Partners: U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame | Canadian Ski Museum and Hall of Fame

Alf Engen Ski Museum | North American Snowsports Journalists Association | Swiss Academic Ski Club


Skiing History (USPS No. 16-201, ISSN: 23293659) is published bimonthly by the International Skiing History Association, P.O. Box 1064, Manchester Center, VT 05255.
Periodicals postage paid at Manchester Center, VT and at additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send address changes to ISHA, P.O. Box 1064, Manchester Center, VT 05255

ISHA is a 501(c)(3) public charity. EIN: 06-1347398

Written permission from the editor is required to reproduce, in any manner, the contents of Skiing History, either in full or in part.

Museum News: Colorado Hall of Fame's Class of 2022

Dakin, LeMaster, Rietz, Thoren, Upham and Bleiler to be honored August 21.

The Colorado Snowsports Hall of Fame has announced its Class of 2022, to be formally inducted on August 21 at the Gerald. R. Ford Amphitheater in Vail, Colorado. They are:

John Dakin

John Dakin, Sport Builder

John served as spokesman for the organizing committee of Vail’s FIS World Ski Championships in1989, 1999 and 2015. He told Colorado’s story with worldwide impact. His impact is befitting recognition in the Colorado Snowsports Hall of Fame.

Ron LeMaster

Ron LeMaster, Inspirational

Over five decades, Ron brought his engineering and science acumen to the analysis of ski technique, to the benefit of skiers, ski coaches and instructors all over Colorado and the world. His writing and photographic skills, published in national magazines and in his own books, enabled a clear understanding of expert- and racing-level skiing. Colorado-born and educated, LeMaster was widely respected as a racing coach and PSIA advisor.

Paul Rietz

Peter Rietz, Sport Builder

Peter served as special counsel for the National Ski Areas Association for 13 years and was a founding member and past president of the Association of Ski Defense Attorneys, a global group networking amongst attorneys that defend ski areas. Peter was a contributing author on the last two amendments to the Colorado Ski Safety Act and a co-author of “Your Responsibility Code.” He has devoted countless volunteer hours contributing to the safety of employees and guests of ski areas.


Jeannie Thoren, Sport Builder

For four decades, Jeannie has worked to perfect skis and boots to help women ski better. In 1986 she built Blizzard's first women-specific ski at the factory in Mittersill, Austria. In 2005, Dynastar/Lange hired her to perfect the Dynastar Exclusive Carve ski, honored as a Gear of the Year selection in 2006-'07. In 2009 she opened Vail’s first women's ski shop. Since 2018 Jeannie has partnered with the Steadman Philippon Research Institute’s Biomotion Lab in Vail to study the effects of ski boots in relation to ACL injury risk in women. Jeannie has elevated the skiing experience for women worldwide.

Chet Upham

Chester (Chet) Upham, Sport Builder

Chet was the owner (with family) and “hands-on” president of Loveland Ski Area for more than fifty years, and the resort remains the longest operating privately owned ski area in the state. Chet’s vision created this iconic mid-sized ski area and influenced the industry through many Loveland alumni who went on to work key jobs at other Colorado resorts. Five of his former employees are Colorado Snowsports Hall of Famers.


In addition, the Colorado Snowsports Hall of Fame is excited to welcome Gretchen Bleiler to the stage at this year’s celebration. Gretchen was inducted as an athlete in 2019 but could not make the induction ceremony. In a professional career that spanned nearly 20 years, Gretchen was the top star in snowboard halfpipe from 2002 through 2010, winning four X Games gold medals, World Superpipe Championships gold and two Vans Triple Crown titles. She dominated qualifying for the 2006 Olympics, going on to win Olympic silver. Following her Olympic medal, she used the platform to speak about her firsthand experiences with climate change around the world. 



Member Already? Sign in.

Member Already? Sign in.